AMERICAN MUSEUM & NATURAL HISTORY

Media Inquiries: Department of Communications

212-769-5800; communications@amnh.org

March 2010

JOHN BURROUGHS 2010 MEDAL FOR DISTINGUISHED NATURAL HISTORY BOOK AWARDED TO MICHAEL WELLAND, AUTHOR OF SAND: THE NEVER-ENDING STORY

WELLAND AND OTHERS WILL BE HONORED AT SPECIAL LUNCHEON ON APRIL 5 AT AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY

The John Burroughs Association announces the 2010 winner of its annual award, created 84 years ago to honor outstanding natural history writing, a genre perfected by John Burroughs: Michael Welland, for his book *Sand: The Never-Ending Story* (University of California Press, 2009). In *Sand*, Welland reflects on the extraordinary story of one of nature's humblest, most powerful, and most ubiquitous materials.

Welland, a London-based geologist, has worked around the world in the energy industry. He is a fellow of the Geological Societies of America and London and the Royal Society for the Arts and Commerce. In *Sand*, Welland examines the science as well as the rich cultural record of sand mixing in tales of artists, mathematicians, explorers, and even a vampire, and relates an epic story of environmental construction and destruction. Sand has made possible our computers, buildings and windows, not to mention less obvious everyday necessities such as toothpaste, cosmetics, and paper. It has also played a dramatic role in human history, fueling commerce and imagination.

The John Burroughs Medal has been given annually since 1926 for books that combine scientific accuracy, firsthand fieldwork, and creative natural history writing. Past Burroughs medalists include Rachel Carson, Joseph Wood Krutch, Loren Eiseley, Paul Brooks, John Hay, Ann Zwinger, Barry Lopez, Gary Nabhan, Robert Pyle, Richard Nelson, Carl Safina, and Ted Levin, Robin Wall Kimmerer, Julia Whitty, and Franklin Burroughs.

The award will be given on Monday, April 5, during the annual meeting of the Burroughs Association at a reservations-only luncheon at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City.

At the same luncheon, Scott Russell Sanders will receive the John Burroughs Award for Outstanding Published Nature Essay for "Mind in the Forest," which originally appeared in the 2009

November/December issue of *Orion*. The award recognizes an outstanding periodical essay of the type that John Burroughs himself wrote and made famous, stressing the author's own connection with nature with either original natural history research or the author's own life experience. The John Burroughs Recognition Award for Outstanding Published Nature Essay has been given annually since 1993. Past recipients include John Daniels, Kenneth Brower, John Mitchell, Michael Pollan, Gary Noel Ross, Gerrat Vermeij, Carl Safina, Freeman House, Edward Kanze, David Gessner, and Christopher Cokinos, and Mark A. Smith.

The Young Reader's award for children's nature writing will also be awarded to Jan Reynolds, *Cycle of Rice*; Pamela F. Kirby, *What Bluebirds Do*; Fabian Negrin, *The Riverbank by Charles Darwin*; Jane Yolen, *A Mirror to Nature*; and Peter Lourie, *Whaling Season: A Year In the Life of a Arctic Whale Scientist.*

The John Burroughs Association, a membership organization of conservation and environmental literary professionals and stewards dedicated to preserving the environment, gives the Medal Award to encourage writing in the Burroughs tradition and maintains sites associated with the famous naturalist. The Association publishes the newsletter *Wake-Robin*.

For reservations and more information about the John Burroughs Award and a complete list of award winners, including the complete John Burroughs List of Nature Books for Young Readers, please contact Lisa Breslof at 212-769-5169, write the John Burroughs Association at 15 West 77th Street, New York, NY, 10024, or visit the website at http://research.amnh.org/burroughs/.

To arrange an interview with Michael Welland or to receive a review copy of *Sand: The Never-Ending Story*, contact Kate Marshall, University of California Press at kmarshall@ucpress.edu.

####

No. 35