There are only a few more days left to discover poison dart frogs, Shakespeare’s witches, and the fearsome gila monster, because the Museum’s Power of Poison exhibition closes on Sunday, August 10.
This weekend, travel to the outer reaches of the universe, go deep inside the Earth’s crust, and see the world in astounding detail—all without setting foot outside the Museum!
In 1869, the year the Museum was incorporated, the Trustees turned to the critical task of building its collections. Within a few months, they sent Daniel Giraud Elliot, a noted ornithologist and naturalist, and Museum Trustee William T. Blodgett to negotiate the purchase of “certain collections of specimens in Natural History” in Europe.
In June, Museum Curator John Sparks was trained in the Exosuit, a next-generation atmospheric diving system, at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution in Massachusetts.