Applying to The Science and Nature Program

The application period for the 2017-2018 school year will re-open in April, 2017.  Please visit this website in the early spring for more information on applying to the Program.


The entry-level class of The Science and Nature Program is the Young Naturalists for 3 to 4 year-olds. Children must turn 3 years old by June 30th in the year they apply. 

The Science and Nature Program classes are small so enrollment in each is limited.  A personal interview with Program staff is required for applicants and their parents. Interviews usually take place in the April and May preceding the school year for which families apply.  Parents are notified of acceptance by June. For information regarding tuition and class schedules, please click here.

Please note that since families usually continue in the Program year after year, there are limited openings in our other on-going science classes beyond pre-school. 



Early childhood and Family Learning at the American Museum of Natural history provides exciting science learning opportunities for young children and families through OLogy, the Discovery Room, The Science and Nature Program, and Public Programs.

Support for Early Childhood and Family Learning has ben provided by Shaiza Rizavi and Jonathan Friedland, The Filomen M. D'Agostino Foundation, Anonymous Donors, Mr. and Mrs. Philip A. Falcone, John and Amy Griffin, Paul Hilal and Josefin Hilal, Kimberly and Greg Lippmann, Joella and John Lykouretzos, Mr. and Mrs. K. Meister, Beth Kobliner Shaw and David E. Shaw, and Sharmila and Ravi Sinha.

Additional funding has been provided by Cecilia and Uzi BenAbraham, Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Civale, Mr. and Mrs. John M. Glazer, Mr. and Mrs. Michael A. Kaufman, Jonathan and Kristy Korngold, Amy and John Jacobsson, Dana Wallach Jones and Michael T.M. Jones, Mr. and Mrs. J. Paul Kerwin, Dr. Paul W. Glimcher and Dr. Barbara Knappmeyer, Mr. Andrew C. Right, Ms. Zibby Schwarzman, Geeta Sharma, M.D. and Mrs. Rajeev Narang, and Laura B. Whitman and Thomas C. Danziger.