Shortcut Navigation:

Seminars

Earth and Planetary Sciences Spring 2014 Seminars

Thursdays at 1:15 p.m. EPS Conference Room

 

Thursday, January 9:
H. RICHARD NASLUND - Binghamton University
"Crystal settling and in-situ differentiation in Proterozoic sills from the Franklin Igneous Province, arctic Canada"

Friday, January 17 @ 2 p.m.:
ED STOLPER - Caltech
"On the origin of Ni-rich olivines from the mantle"

Thursday, January 23 @ 1:30 p.m.:
MARC HIRSCHMANN - University of Minnesota
"Reduced Volatiles and Early Planetary Volcanogenic Atmospheres"

Thursday, January 30 - 1:15 p.m.:
CELINE MARTIN - AMNH
"Trace Element Mobility during Metamorphism"

Thursday, February 6:
TOMOAKI MORISHITA - Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory/Columbia University
"Graphite in black jadeitites and an arc-metasomatized peridotite xenolith: Implications for carbon recycling"

Tuesday, February 11 - 1:30 p.m.:
RICHARD DENNE - Marathon Oil
"Massive Cretaceous-Paleogene boundary deposit and initial incision of the ancestral Desoto Canyon: New evidence for widespread Chicxulub-induced slope failure in the deep-water Gulf of Mexico"

Thursday, February 20:
ROGER L. NIELSEN - Oregon State University
"Plagioclase as a Petrologic Probe: New Developments and Examples from Experiments, Arcs and Ridges"

Thursday, February 27:
ELIZABETH FERRISS - Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory/Columbia University
"'Water' Diffusion in Olivine and Clinopyroxene

Thursday, March 6:
JOE DUFEK - Georgia Institute of Technology
"The Assembly and Dynamics of Explosive Volcanic Eruptions"

*Wednesday, March 12:
JOHN HUGHES - University of Vermont
"The many facets of apatite"

Thursday, March 20:  No Seminar - Lunar & Planetary Science Conference

Thursday, March 27:
GUILHERME GUALDA - Vanderbilt University
"Understanding the structure and evolution of giant magma bodies using rhyolite-MELTS geobarometry and quartz geospeedometry"

Thursday, April 3:
JEFF VERVOORT - Washington State University
"Growth and Evolution of Earth's Earliest Crust"

*Friday, April 11:
AUDREY BOUVIER - University of Western Ontario
"How modern mass spectrometry is driving new discoveries in cosmochemistry"

Thursday, April 17:
GEORGE HARLOW - AMNH
"The Mogok Stone Tract, Myanmar:   A Geological Marvel"

*Wednesday, April 23:
MARK TWICKLER, University of New Hampshire
"West Antarctic Ice Sheet - Divide Ice Core  2005-13"

Thursday, May 1:
DENTON S. EBEL - AMNH

Thursday, May 8:
HAROLD C. CONNOLLY, JR.  - CUNY - Kingsborough Community College

Thursday, May 15:
JILL A. VANTONGEREN - Rutgers University

Thursday, May 22:
OLIVER JAGOUTZ - MIT

Thursday, May 29:
AUDREY VORBURGER - AMNH

When: The Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at the American Museum of Natural History holds seminars on most Thursdays during the academic year. Please refer to the current schedule for more details.

Where: Seminars are held in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences conference room.

Directions: The department is located on the fourth floor close to the Information Desk in the Wallach Orientation Center on the south or 77th Street side of the building. The entrance to the department is to the right of the movie screen. A phone at the door can be used to contact Gokce Ustunisik (x5361) or Nanette Nicholson (x5390) for entry. Visitors who wish to attend the seminar are invited to contact Gokce or Nanette in advance for more detailed directions, or to arrange for someone to meet you at one of the museum entrances.

Mailing list: Information about upcoming seminars are sent via e-mail a few days before the scheduled date. If you would like to be on the mailing list to receive information about our seminars, please send an e-mail to gustunisik@amnh.org.

American Museum of Natural History

Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024-5192
Phone: 212-769-5100

Open daily from 10 am - 5:45 pm
except on Thanksgiving and Christmas
Maps and Directions