Shortcut Navigation:

Fall Seminars 2006

Wednesday, September 6th, 2006 Guy Consolmagno - Specola, Vatican - (Fordham) Classifying Meteorites by Density and Susceptibility: Better, Faster, Cheaper?

Tuesday, September 12, 2006 OPEN

Tuesday, September 19, 2006 OPEN

Tuesday, September 26, 2006 Charlie Merguerian - Hofstra University New Insights on the Structural Geology of New York City.

Tuesday, October 3, 2006 Wuyi Wang - Gemological Institute of America, NYC Gem Treatment and Identification - A Story of Crystal Defects

Tuesday, October 10, 2006 Al Duba - Earth and Planetary Sciences, AMNH Tales of the North Pacific--the Frozen Part of the Ring of Fire: "Baked Alaska, Baked Kamchatka."

Tuesday, October 17, 2006 Bill McDonough - University of Maryland Geoneutrinos and the Composition of the Earth's Core.

Tuesday, October 24, 2006 Nancy Chabot - Johns Hopkins University Understanding Earth's Core Formation Through Experiments.

Tuesday, October 31, 2006 Dan Harlov - University of Potsdam (GeoForschungsZentrum) Fluid-mineral interaction along grain boundaries: metasomatism and the evolution of mineral and fluid phases as a function of P-T-X.

Tuesday, November 14, 2006 Mike Carr - Rutgers University Element Fluxes from the Volcanic Front of Nicaragua and Costa Rica.

Tuesday, November 21, 2006 Hap McSween - University of Tennessee Petrogenesis of Alkaline Rocks in Gusev Crater, Mars.

Tuesday, November 28, 2006 Nobu Shimizu - Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute Chemical Structure of the Hawaiian Plume, based on in-situ Pb isotopes.

Tuesday, December 5, 2006 Geoffrey Plumlee - US Geological Survey Science in the international hot seat: Results of an independent interdisciplinary assessment of mining-related environmental problems, Marinduque Island, Philippines.

 Thursday, December 7, 2006 Alan Rice - Earth and Planetary Sciences, AMNH Multiple meteoroid impact in Antarctica?

American Museum of Natural History

Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024-5192
Phone: 212-769-5100

Open daily from 10 am - 5:45 pm
except on Thanksgiving and Christmas
Maps and Directions