Shortcut Navigation:

Spring Seminars 2010

Thursday, January 28
PHILIPP RUPRECHT - Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University
"Decomposing Magma Mixing: Effects on Crystal Residence Time Scales and Eruptive Behavior"

Thursday, February 4
JILL VAN TONGEREN - Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University
"The 'Ins' and 'Outs' of the Bushveld Complex Upper Zone"

Thursday, February 18
DAVID LONDON - University of Oklahoma
"Gem-bearing Pegmatites: Nature's "Fancy" Rocks"

Thursday, February 25
STEPHEN MOJZSIS - University of Colorado
"The Oldest Earth Rocks (4.02-3.75 Ga) and What They Tell us of the Nature of the Surface Environment"

Thursday, March 11
BRUCE MARSH - Johns Hopkins University
"An Intimate Dynamic History of a Bimodal Magma Chamber: Isle au Haut, Maine"

Thursday, March 18
ANTONIO BUONO - Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University
"Understanding Core Evolution through High Pressure Phase Equilibria"

Thursday, March 25, in the RGGS Classroom, 5th Floor
PAUL FALKOWSKI, N.A.S. - Rutgers University
"Microbes, the Invisible Stewards of Earth"

Thursday, April 1
ANTONIO GARCIA CASCO - University of Granada, Spain
"Thermal Evolution of Subducted Slabs: A Metamorphic Perspective with Examples from the Northern Edge of the Caribbean Plate"

Thursday, April 22
JEFFREY POST - Smithsonian Institute
"Manganese Oxide Minerals: Soils to Synchrotrons"

Thursday, May 6, in the RGGS Classroom, 5th Floor
DAVID JOHNSTON - Harvard University
"Evaluating Earth's Second 'Great Oxidation': A Closer Look at Neoproterozoic Ocean Chemistry and the Rise of Animals"

Thursday, May 13
KEVIN McKEEGAN - University of California, Los Angeles
"The Oxygen Isotopic Composition of Captured Solar Wind and Implications for the Early Solar System"

Thursday, May 27
DAVID HOLLAND - New York University
"Glacier-Ocean Interaction in Greenland and Antarctica: Observations and Model Results"

Thursday, June 10
LEONID DANYUSHEVSKY - University of Tasmania
"Subduction Factory Unroofed: Submarime Magmatism at the Southern Termination of the North Fiji Backarc Basin, Southwest Pacific"

American Museum of Natural History

Central Park West at 79th Street
New York, NY 10024-5192
Phone: 212-769-5100

Open daily from 10 am - 5:45 pm
except on Thanksgiving and Christmas
Maps and Directions