AMERICAN MUSEUM & NATURAL HISTORY 🏗

Media Inquiries: Department of Communications

212-769-5800; communications@amnh.org

March 2009

JOHN BURROUGHS 2009 MEDAL AWARDED TO CONFLUENCE: MERRYMEETING BAY BY FRANKLIN BURROUGHS FOR BEST NATURE WRITING

BURROUGHS AND OTHERS WILL BE HONORED AT SPECIAL LUNCHEON ON APRIL 6 AT AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY

The John Burroughs Association announces the winner of its annual award, created 81 years ago to honor outstanding natural history writing, a genre perfected by John Burroughs. In *Confluence:*Merrymeeting Bay (Tilbury House, 2006), award winner Franklin Burroughs reflects on the human and natural history of this colorful Maine bay with vivid descriptions of its wild nature and insightful observations of the people who inhabit it.

Franklin Burroughs (who is not related to John Burroughs) is the author of *The River Home: A Return to the Low Country* and *Billy Watson's Croker Sack*. His essays have appeared in a variety of literary quarterlies and have been reprinted in such collections as *Best American Essays*, *The Pushcart Anthology*, and *The Norton Anthology of Nature Writing*.

Photographer Heather Perry depicted the rich life of Merrymeeting Bay for Burrough's book. She holds a degree in biology, and her work has appeared in *Ocean Navigator*, *Maine Times*, *Trout*, *Atlantic Salmon*, *Dive International* (UK), *Le Monde* (Paris), and *Georama Experiment* (Greece). Her stock imagery is currently represented by the National Geographic Image Collection.

The John Burroughs Medal has been given annually since 1926 for books that combine scientific accuracy, firsthand fieldwork, and creative natural history writing in the United States. Past Burroughs medalists include Rachel Carson, Joseph Wood Krutch, Loren Eiseley, Paul Brooks, John Hay, Ann Zwinger, Barry Lopez, Gary Nabhan, Robert Pyle, Richard Nelson, Carl Safina, and Ted Levin.

The award will be bestowed on Monday, April 6 during the annual meeting of the Burroughs Association, at a reservations-only luncheon at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. At the same luncheon, Mark A. Smith will receive the John Burroughs Award for Outstanding Published Nature Essay for his *Animalcules and Other Little Subjects* which originally appeared in the 2008 Fall/Winner issue of *Isotope*. The award recognizes an outstanding periodical essay of the type that John Burroughs himself wrote and made famous, stressing the author's own connection with nature with either original natural history research or the author's own life experience. The John Burroughs Recognition Award for Outstanding Published Nature Essay has been given annually since 1993. Past recipients include John Daniels, Kenneth Brower, John Mitchell, Michael Pollan, Gary Noel Ross, Gerrat Vermeij, Carl Safina, Freeman House, Edward Kanze, David Gessner, and Christopher Cokinos.

The John Burroughs Association, a membership organization of conservation and environmental literary professionals and stewards dedicated to preserving the environment, gives the Medal award to encourage writing in the Burroughs tradition and maintains sites associated with the famous naturalist. The Association publishes the newsletter *Wake-Robin*.

For reservations and more information about the John Burroughs Award and/or a complete list of award winners, including the complete John Burroughs List of Nature Books for Young Readers, please contact Lisa Breslof at 212-769-5169, or write the John Burroughs Association at 15 West 77th Street, New York, NY, 10024, or visit the website at http://research.amnh.org/burroughs/.

To arrange an interview with Franklin Burroughs or Heather Perry or to receive a review copy of *Confluence: Merrymeeting Bay*, contact Sarah McGinnis, Publicity and Marketing, Tilbury House Publishers, 103 Brunswick Avenue, Gardiner, Maine, 04345, or 800-582-1899.

####