Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award main content.

Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award



The Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award recognizes documentary filmmakers who embody the spirit, energy, and innovation demonstrated by anthropologist Margaret Mead in her research, fieldwork, films, and writings. The award is given to a filmmaker whose feature documentary displays artistic excellence and originality of storytelling technique while offering a new perspective on a culture or community remote from the majority of our audiences’ experience. Filmmakers with works making their U.S. premieres at the festival are eligible.


Recipients of the 2013 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award: Sarah Gavron and David Katznelson for Village at the End of the World

2013 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award Special Mention: Lalita Krishna for Mallamall

The 2013 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award Jury

Lisa Heller

Lisa Heller is the senior vice president of HBO Documentary Films, where she develops, programs, and promotes a wide range of nonfiction films. She is also a board member for Creative Capital.

Jamal Joseph

Jamal Joseph is an artistic director, filmmaker, and professor of Professional Practice at Columbia University who is currently translating his real-life experience as one of the youngest members of the Black Panther Party into a film for Focus Features.

Richard Pena

Richard Peña was the program director of the Film Society of Lincoln Center and the director of the New York Film Festival 1988 through 2012. He is currently professor of Film Studies at Columbia University.

Sadia Shepard

Sadia Shepard is an author and filmmaker whose documentary The Other Half of Tomorrow had its world premiere as the opening night film of the 2012 Margaret Mead Film Festival.

The Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award winner(s) will be announced on closing night.