The Margaret Mead Film Festival is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature. 

Special Support provided by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. 

Support for the Margaret Mead Film Festival is provided, in part, by the May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, Inc. and the family of Frederick H. Leonhardt. 


Support also provided by:

Logo German Consulate NYC
Logo for Mexican Cultural Institute
Logo for Spain Consulate
Gold pyramid with the silhouette of man in white in the middle
Crow in flight with the tail blending into a long fish's tail creating a spiral with ishka film beneath it


A special thanks to the Flaherty Seminar for their longstanding support of the filmmaker brunch

American Museum of Natural History

Lewis W. Bernard

Ellen V. Futter

Curatorial Advisors

Laurel Kendall
Curator of Asian Ethnology and Chair of the Division of Anthropology

Peter Whiteley
Curator of North American Ethnology, Division of Anthropology

Festival Staff

Ruth Cohen
Bella Desai
Soley Esteves
Emily Haidet
Kira Lacks
Alonso Teruel
Alessandra Vecino Gazabón

Programming Consultants

The Office:
Noah Bashevkin
Olli Chanoff
Rachel Chanoff
Laurie Cearley
Gabrielle Davenport
Catherine DeGennaro
Charles Jabour
Lynn Koek
Ana Maroto

Festival Consultant

Faye Ginsburg 
Kriser Professor of Anthropology and Director, Center for Media, Culture and History, NYU

Pegi Vail
Documentary Instructor and Associate Director, Center for Media, Culture and History, NYU

Andrew Okpeaha MacLean
Assistant Arts Professor and Academic Director for NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts


Ming Fearon


Tim Hone

Festival Interns

Caroline Collesidis
Bryce Goyer
Riyad Mammadyarov
Rachel Smythe
Nina Strong
Alaina Wibberly
Maeve White


Elizabeth Bailey
April Bethea
William Best
Aaliyah Chin
Irene Devlin-Weiss
Susan Enowitz
Luke Gibson
Mark I. Gross
Kali Karagias
Marlene Kawalek
David Lieber
Linda Lipson
Carol Merril
Jeffrey Rosen
Tricia Rosen
Hannah Shostack
Margaret Wadsworth
Harriet Weldon
Laura B. Whitman
Christine P. Williams
Yvette Wojciechowski
Sharon Young

Special Thanks

Talia Amador
Eduardo Almirantearena
Mary Catherine Bateson
Joan Kelly Bernard
Mahen Bonetti
Bridge Multimedia
Anita Caltabiano
Rachel Cooper
Beatriz D'Alessandro
Matthais Dettling
Dominic Davis
Fernanda de la Torre
Jean Pierre Dion
Nate Dorr
The Flaherty
Mathieu Fournet
Sarah Gambardella
Anna Garrido
Carlos Gutierrez
Maria Halava-Napoles
Sally Holt
Julian Jahnz
Henne Kamil
Sevanne Kassarjian
Vera Kuipers
Jacklyn Lacey
Sandrine Ligabue
Eugenia Levenson
Alice McDowell
Lisa Linde Nieveid
Thomas Norcott
Nicolas Polet
Eran Polishuk
Lisa Rifkind
Alanna Ruse
Jenny Saavedra
Ariun Sanjaajamts
Elena Sansalone
Catherine Scheinman
Moriah Shtull
Bernhard Simek
Tomek Smolarski
Samuel Tran
Maria Ubeda Morales
Juan-Pablo Valdes
Kristin Wahlberg
Beth Weinstein
Susan Weisbrod
Isaac Zablocki
The American Museum of Natural History Audio/Visual Team
The 2018 Mead Volunteers