Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award



The Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award recognizes documentary filmmakers who embody the spirit, energy, and innovation demonstrated by anthropologist Margaret Mead in her research, fieldwork, films, and writings. The award is given to a filmmaker whose feature documentary displays artistic excellence and originality of storytelling technique while offering a new perspective on a culture or community remote from the majority of our audiences’ experience. Filmmakers with works making their U.S. premieres at the festival are eligible.


Recipients of the 2013 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award: Sarah Gavron and David Katznelson for Village at the End of the World

2013 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award Special Mention: Lalita Krishna for Mallamall

Recipients of the 2012 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award: Adam Isenberg, for A Life Without Words (Una Vida Sin Palabras) 

2012 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award Special Mention:  Giovanni Giommi for Bad Weather and Miyarrka Media for Manapanmirr, in Christmas Spirit.

Recipients of the 2011 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award: Yaunchen Liu for To the Light

Recipients of the 2010 Margaret Mead Filmmaker Award: Marc Francis and Nick Francis for When China Met Africa