Applying to The Science and Nature Program

The application period for the 2017-2018 school year is now closed.

The entry-level class of The Science and Nature Program is the Young Naturalists for 3 to 4 year-olds. Children must turn 3 years old by June 30th in the year they apply. 

The Science and Nature Program classes are small so enrollment in each is limited.  A personal interview with Program staff is required for applicants and their parents. Interviews usually take place in the April and May preceding the school year for which families apply.  Parents are notified of acceptance by June. For information regarding tuition and class schedules, please click here.

Please note that since families usually continue in the Program year after year, there are limited openings in our other on-going science classes beyond pre-school. 



Early Childhood and Family Learning at the American Museum of Natural History provides exciting science learning opportunities for young children and families through OLogy, the Discovery Room, The Science and Nature Program, and Public Programs.

Support for Early Childhood and Family Learning has been provided by Shaiza Rizavi and Jonathan Friedland, the Filomen M. D'Agostino Foundation, anonymous donors, Mr. and Mrs. Philip A. Falcone, John and Amy Griffin, Josefin and Paul Hilal, Kimberly Kravis and Jonathan Schulhof, Kimberly and Greg Lippmann, Joella and John Lykouretzos, Mr. and Mrs. K. Meister, Beth Kobliner Shaw and David E. Shaw, Sharmila and Ravi Sinha, Mr. and Mrs. Marshall Smith, and Tony and Nanar Yoseloff.

Additional funding has been provided by Mr. and Mrs. Jason Ader, Cecilia and Uzi Benabraham, Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Civale, Mr. and Mrs. John M. Glazer, Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Guffey, Mr. and Mrs. Carl C. Icahn, Mr. and Mrs. Michael A. Kaufman, Jonathan and Kristy Korngold, Amy and John Jacobsson, Dana Wallach Jones and Michael T. M. Jones, Mr. and Mrs. J. Paul Kerwin, Dr. Paul W. Glimcher and Dr. Barbara Knappmeyer, Michael and Marjorie Loeb, Victoria and Gianni Moor, Valerie and Wright Ohrstrom, Mr. Andrew C. Right, Ms. Zibby Schwarzman, Mr. and Mrs. Max von Zuben, and Laura B. Whitman and Thomas C. Danziger.