Solar System

A solar system is made up of a star and everything that travels around it. Solar means "of the sun." In our Solar System, the Sun is orbited by the terrestrial planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, the gas planets Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, and the ring of comets known as the Kuiper Belt. Its outer edge is the spherical cloud of comets called the Oort Cloud.

Image credits: main image, courtesy of NASA.