Calendar main content.

Calendar

COVID-19 update: The Museum is closed to maintain health and safety, but a selection of programs are available online.

Science Socials SciCafe: Spider Silk Explore one of the world’s strongest, most resilient, and versatile materials–spider silk–with Museum Curator Cheryl Hayashi. Wednesday, July 1, 2020 Special Events Scientists at Home: Rocks vs. Minerals Join in a discussion of these natural elements, featuring specimens from the Museum's collection. Thursday, July 2, 2020 Special Events COVID-19: Vaccines, Testing, and the Science Behind the Cure Join us for an online discussion about testing and vaccine development to learn how experts are addressing COVID-19. Wednesday, July 8, 2020 Special Events Scientists at Home: Archaeology Encounter Scientists will share objects from the archaeology collection, and what they tell us about the humans who made them. Thursday, July 9, 2020 Special Events Field Trip: Manhattanhenge 2020 Join a virtual flight across New York City’s grid to view this spectacular light display. Friday, July 10, 2020 Special Events Behind the Scenes: Tracking Big Cats Learn how Museum scientists use scat to track big cats around the world, like mountain lions, jaguars, and snow leopards. Tuesday, July 14, 2020 Special Events Scientists at Home: Bird Edition Learn about different bird species, with videos and photos showcasing research by Museum scientists. Thursday, July 16, 2020 Special Events Live with Frogs, Lizards, and Snakes Are you Team Reptile or Team Amphibian? Museum herpetologists will discuss all things snake, lizard, and frog. Friday, July 17, 2020 Lectures and Talks Hall Tour: Ornithischian Dinosaurs Explore famous dinosaur fossils, including the very first full dinosaur “mummy” ever discovered. Tuesday, July 21, 2020 Special Events Scientists at Home: Endangered Species and Climate Change Find out how scientists are working to help species threatened by climate change in a live program with a conservation biologist. Thursday, July 23, 2020 Special Events Inside Look at the Trilobite Collection Join us for a tour of the Museum’s collection of 400,000 trilobite fossils. Friday, July 24, 2020 Special Events Inside Look at the Bird Egg Collection Go behind the scenes and get a glimpse at the largest known egg of a modern bird, the extinct Elephant Bird. Tuesday, July 28, 2020
1 2