病毒、疫苗和COVID-19

© AMNH
地球上到处都有生命,高至大气层低至海洋深处,都有病毒的存在——普通的一茶匙海水中大约存在5000万病毒。

其中一小部分病毒通过感染人类而生存和繁殖。我们为控制这些宿敌而研发的疫苗是科学界最伟大的成就之一。

COVID-19时代的大流行科学

我们通常是通过病毒感染我们从而可能引起的疾病而熟悉它们,这些疾病可能轻则像流鼻涕,重则可能导致死亡,但这些微小的、不完全是活着的实体不仅仅是造成人类疾病的因素。

病毒随着我们的祖先最初出现在地球上一起进化,它们塑造了我们的道路,正如我们也塑造了它们一样。事实上,如果没有他们,我们今天都没法站在这里。在这个联系越来越紧密的当代世界中,疫苗在平衡我们与新老病毒的关系方面发挥着越来越重要的作用。

在这一系列视频、文章和在线资源和网站链接中,探索COVID-19时代的疫苗、病毒和公共卫生背后的科学。

探索更多内容

Video 青少年 SciCafe: Kishana Taylor 的剧毒病毒 与罗格斯大学的微生物学家 Kishana Taylor 博士一起探索什么是病毒以及它们如何进化和变异。(仅提供英文版本。) 交互式 病毒探索者 在由Howard Hughes Medical Institute提供的此资源中,浏览从腺病毒到Zika病毒的3D模型和病毒描述。(仅提供英文版本。) 图表 全球冠状病毒地图 在由Johns Hopkins University提供的COVID-19图表上追踪新型冠状病毒在全球的传播情况。 视频 COVID-19背后的病毒 在由Howard Hughes Medical Institute制作的这部由四部分组成的动画中,探索COVID-19背后的病毒——SARS-CoV-2的生物学特性。(提供英语和西班牙语版本。) 快闪式展览 NYSCI的冠状病毒展览 在由NYSCI提供的此资源中了解冠状病毒、传播、预防和疫苗。(提供英语和西班牙语版本。) 视频 解读史上最致命的流行病 了解1918年流感与其他流感毒株的进化关系有助于帮助解释其严重程度。(仅提供英文版本。) 互动 COVID-19疫苗是如何如此迅速地研发出来的? 在Johns Hopkins University提供的该资源中比较典型的疫苗研发时间表与加速时间表。(仅提供英文版本。) 调查 追踪人们对疫苗接种的态度 了解由Kaiser Family Foundation提供的关于公众对COVID-19疫苗接种的态度和经验的最新数据。(仅提供英文版本。) Video 青少年 SciCafe: 当杰伊·瓦玛(Jay Varma)发生大流行病时 世界如何才能更好地应对全球流行病的挑战,我们可以做些什么来帮助结束它?(仅提供英文版本。)

我们将何去何从?

随着我们继续发展并改变我们这颗拥挤星球上的自然环境,新病毒将继续出现。我们从当前大流行中吸取教训,为未来做好准备是至关重要的。

我们必须确保建立有效的系统来预测危险病毒可能出现的位置,一旦它们出现就立即识别它们,并且在该病毒爆发演变成流行病、从流行病又进而转变成大流行之前阻止它们。公平地获得医疗保健服务、工作、教育、健康食品、清洁饮用水和安全的居住场所可以创造更公平的卫生成果,从而影响到地球上的每个人。为了有效应对传染病,我们必须解决卫生不公平问题。

我们必须确保建立有效的系统来预测危险病毒可能出现的位置。

在COVID-19大流行期间,世界各地的科学家们以前所未有的合作精神,共同研发新型疫苗,并以快速、高效、安全的方式测试和生产疫苗。mRNA疫苗技术已经发展了很多年,很快被证明是一个惊人的强大工具,有望在治疗包括艾滋病毒(HIV)和Zika病毒在内的一系列其他传染性疾病方面发挥同样的作用。

现在,全世界对保护人们免受病毒侵害所面临的挑战,以及如何着手应对这些挑战,有了更深入的了解。

在纽约市健康与心理卫生局(New York Department of Health and Mental Hygiene,NYDHMH)的支持下制作。© 2021 City of New York 

Irma和Paul Milstein家族为COVID-19资源中心及其相关的教师专业发展计划提供了慷慨的支持。

Viruses, Vaccines, and COVID-19

© AMNH
Everywhere there’s life on Earth, from high up in the atmosphere to deep in the ocean, there are viruses—some 50 million of them in a typical teaspoon of seawater. 

A small subset of those survive and multiply by infecting humans. And the vaccines we’ve developed to control those arch enemies have been among the greatest triumphs of science.

Pandemic Science in the Era of COVID-19 

We’re most familiar with viruses from the illnesses they can cause when they infect us, which can be as negligible as sniffles or as serious as death, but there’s far more to these tiny, not-quite-alive entities than just human disease.

Viruses evolved alongside us from our ancestors’ first appearance on Earth, shaping our path as surely as we shaped theirs. In fact, we wouldn’t be here without them. In our contemporary, ever-more-connected world, vaccines are ever-more vital for keeping our relationship with viruses, old and new, in balance. 

In this constellation of videos, articles, and links to online resources and websites, explore the science behind vaccines, viruses, and public health in the era of COVID-19.

More to Explore

Video Teen SciCafe: Virulent Viruses with Kishana Taylor Explore what viruses are and how they evolve and mutate with microbiologist Kishana Taylor, Ph.D., of Rutgers University. Interactive Virus Explorer Browse 3D models and descriptions of viruses, from adenovirus to Zika, in this resource from Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Dashboard Global Coronavirus Map Track how the novel coronavirus is spreading around the globe in this COVID-19 dashboard from Johns Hopkins University. Video The Virus Behind COVID-19 Explore the biology of SARS-CoV-2, the virus behind COVID-19, in this four-part animation from Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Pop-Up Exhibition NYSCI’S Coronavirus Exhibit Learn about coronaviruses, transmission, prevention, and vaccines in this resource from the NYSCI, in English or Español. Video Deciphering History's Deadliest Pandemic Find out how the 1918 flu's evolutionary relationship to other flu strains helps explain its severity. Interactive How Were COVID-19 Vaccines Developed So Quickly? Compare a typical vaccine development timeline with an accelerated timeline in this resource from Johns Hopkins University. Survey Tracking Attitudes Toward Vaccination Explore the latest data about the public’s attitudes and experiences with COVID-19 vaccinations from Kaiser Family Foundation. Video Teen SciCafe: When a Pandemic Strikes with Jay Varma How could the world have been better prepared to meet the challenges of a global pandemic, and what can we do to help end it?

Where Do We Go From Here?

As we continue to move across and alter natural environments on our crowded planet, new viruses will continue to emerge. It’s vital that we learn from the current pandemic to prepare us for the future. 

We must make sure that effective systems are in place to predict where dangerous viruses are likely to emerge, to recognize them once they’re here, and to stop them in their tracks before an outbreak can become an epidemic and an epidemic can become a pandemic. Equitable access to healthcare, jobs, education, healthy food, clean water, and safe places to live create more equitable health outcomes, which affect everyone on the planet. To address infectious diseases effectively, we must address health inequities.

We must make sure that effective systems are in place to predict where dangerous viruses are likely to emerge.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, scientists around the world came together in unprecedented cooperation to develop new vaccines, along with fast, efficient, safe ways to test and produce them. The mRNA vaccine technology, which had been in development for many years, quickly proved to be an astonishingly powerful tool that promises to be just as useful for addressing a vast range of other infectious diseases, including HIV and Zika.

The world now has a much better understanding of the challenges involved in keeping people safe from viruses—and of how to begin addressing them.

Created with the support of the City of New York Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. © 2021 City of New York 

Generous support for the COVID-19 Resource Hub and its related teacher professional development programs has been provided by
the Irma and Paul Milstein Family.