Federal Support

Project 1640 Internal Optics
Project 1640 Internal Optics.

A portion of this work is or was supported by the National Science Foundation under Award Nos. AST-0215793, 0334916, 0520822, 0619922, 0804417, 0908497, 1039790 and EAGER grant 1245018.  A portion of the research was carried out at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology, under a contract with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and was funded by internal Research and Technology Development funds. A portion of this work was supported by NASA Origins of the Solar System Grant No. NMO7100830/102190, and NASA APRA grant No. 08-APRA08-0117. In addition, Fergus and Hogg were partially supported by the National Science Foundation under Award No. IIS-1124794. Pueyo, Hinkley and Soummer performed some of this work in part under contract with the California Institute of Technology funded by NASA through the Sagan Fellowship Program. Hinkley conducted some of the research described here with the support of a National Science Foundation Astronomy and Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellowship under Award No. AST-1203023. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation or the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Private Support

Our team is also grateful to the Plymouth Hill Foundation for sustained support over the past few years.  Early funding assistance was generously provided by Ethel and Hilary Lipsitz and the Cordelia Corporation, as well as Judy Vale, the Vincent Astor Fund, Anthony Marshall, Ann Mallinckrodt, and two anonymous donors. Oppenheimer acknowledges continued support from Paco, and the support provided by AMNH's Kalbfleisch research fund for Soummer, Hinkley and Cook.

Project 1640 Spokes
The Project 1640 Spokesdog

We also acknowledge the efforts of Mike Werner, Paul Goldsmith, Jacob van Zyl, and Stephanie Hunt. Nilsson performed some of his work with funding through a grant from Helge Ax:son Johnson's foundation, as well as the Stuart Daniels endowment at AMNH. We thank the the Raymond and Beverly Sacker Foundation whose generous donation allowed the purchase of the original Project 1640 detector. We also thank Teledyne Imaging Sensors for their help and support throughout this project.

We thank the dedication and assistance of Andy Boden, Shrinivas Kulkarni and Anna Marie Hetman at Caltech Optical Observatories.  Finally, the entire team expresses sincere gratitude and appreciation for the hard work of the Palomar mountain crew, especially by Bruce Baker, Mike Doyle, Carolyn Heffner, John Henning, Greg van Idsinga, Steve Kunsman, Dan McKenna, Jean Mueller, Kajsa Peffer, Kevin Rykowski, and Pam Thompson.  This project would be impossible without the flexibility, responsiveness and dedication of such an effective and motivated staff.